Las noticias de Squash en América

Life is Simple: Eat, sleep, play Squash


Antigua Argentina Aruba Bahamas Barbados Bermuda Bolivia Brasil Cayman Island Canada Chile Colombia Costa Rica Dominica Ecuador El Salvador
Guatemala Guyana Honduras Jamaica Mexico Panama Paraguay Peru Republica Dominicana Saint Lucia Saint Vincent & Grenadines Surinam Trinidad & Tobago United States Uruguay Venezuela
FPS MEMBERS / MIEMBROS FPS "Click" en la bandera para ver la información de cada país




Avila Avenges Edmonton Loss For Florida Win
PSA reports...

Avila Avenges Edmonton Loss For Florida Win

9 December 2013

RESULTS: PSA Challenger 10 Betty F Griffin Florida State Open Squash Championship, Boca Raton, Florida, USA

[1] Alfredo Avila (MEX) bt [4] Hisham Mohd Ashour (EGY) 11-8, 5-11, 11-7, 11-5
[2] Farhan Zaman (PAK) bt Johan Bouquet (FRA) 13-11, 7-11, 14-12, 11-4
[1] Alfredo Avila (MEX) bt [2] Farhan Zaman (PAK) 11-9, 11-7, 11-5

Just a week after losing to the lower-ranked Pakistani in the opening round of the Edmonton Open in Canada, Mexico's Alfredo Avila earned his revenge in the ideal way by beating Farhan Zaman in the final of the 5th Annual Betty F Griffin Florida State Open Squash Championship to win the PSA World Tour Challenger 10 title at the Lifetime Athletic Club in Boca Raton in the US state of Florida.

Top seed Avila reached the final - his seventh on the Tour - after a four-game win over Hisham Mohd Ashour, the former World No.11 from Egypt making his return to the international circuit after a seven-month break.

Second seed Zaman, the World No.68 from Peshawar, also needed four games to overcome unseeded Frenchman Johan Bouquet in the other semi to reach his third Tour final of the year.

Still smarting from his premature exit in Alberta, 22-year-old Avila was determined to make amends.

The World No.62 from Mexico City duly despatched Zaman 11-9, 11-7, 11-5 to win the fifth PSA World Tour title of his career - and his second Florida State Open crown since 2010.

Pictured at the presentations are (L to R): Peter Cheshire (Tournament Director), Zaman, Joe Griffin, Avila and Andre Maur (Tour Director)

Información General
Derechos Reservados - 2013